26 May 2021

Black Bay Ceramic METAS

Quick Take

Tudor has been making some surprising moves lately, including (depending on your expectations) an 18k gold version of the Black Bay 58, and a sterling silver version of the same watch as well. Now Tudor’s announced another surprise: The Black Bay Ceramic. This is a Black Bay with a full ceramic case and ceramic bezel insert, and the watch has a new movement as well – the caliber MT5602-1U.

The most notable feature of the watch, however, is one you can’t see. This is the first watch from Tudor to be certified by the Swiss Federal Institute Of Metrology in Bern (METAS) which in 2015, in partnership with Omega, developed a new certification standard for wristwatches. METAS certification requires the watch in question to be Swiss-made and COSC-certified, and as well, to pass a battery of additional tests. These include testing the watch for precision in 6 positions and at two levels of power reserve (100% and 33%) as well as waterproofness, length of power reserve, and most importantly, resistance to magnetic fields. The new Black Bay Ceramic is resistant to magnetic fields up to at least 15,000 gauss, which makes it, for all intents and purposes, completely resistant to magnetism in daily life.

The new movement has an all-black finish as well, including the tungsten oscillating mass for the winding rotor.

All testing for METAS certification is done at Tudor HQ in Geneva. Another first for the watch is on the dial – this is the first Black Bay to actually say “Black Bay” on the dial. HODINKEE’s Danny Milton says, “Usually the dial has the depth rating (gone) and ‘Chronometer Officially Certified’ (gone). Went from three lines to two lines of text which I think people will like.”

 

 

 

Initial Thoughts

This is actually not the first Black Bay in ceramic – you might remember that that honor goes to a watch Tudor created for the Only Watch benefit auction in 2019 (the auction is held every two years, and proceeds go to benefit research into therapies and a cure for muscular dystrophy). That watch was the Black Bay Ceramic One, which hammered for CHF 350,000. The new Black Bay Ceramic is, however, the first full production Tudor Black Bay in ceramic.

This is also the first time that a METAS certified watch has been produced by a brand other than Omega, which up until now has monopolized the certification.

The production of a METAS certified watch by Tudor is a logical move. For one thing, it means that the company is now in the forefront of technical mechanical horology, and it gives it a very strong competing value proposition with other brands, especially those producing sports watches and dive watches in the sub-$5000 range. It also serves to further distinguish Tudor from Rolex, which is increasingly important moving forward. Tudor’s ability to present designs that set it apart from the Crown has become more and more firmly established in recent years, and while its own family of calibers were a distinguishing feature, the Tudor movements (which come from Kenissi) now have, with METAS certification, a major advantage for the consumer.

The Movement

Caliber: MT5602-1U, in-house, with silicon balance spring

Functions: Hours, minutes second
Diameter: 31.8mm
Thickness: 6.5mm
Power Reserve: 70 hours
Winding: automatic
Frequency: 28,800 vph
Jewels: 25
Chronometer Certified:
Additional Details: variable inertia balance; adjusted to 0/+5 seconds per day maximum variation in rate.


Pricing & Availability

Price: CHF 4500
Availability: Available now
Limited Edition: No, regular production

Source : https://www.hodinkee.com/articles/the-tudor-black-bay-ceramic-the-first-metas-certified-tudor

Subscrive to our Newsletter

Be the first to know about new arrivals, exclusive offers and tips from Watchour.

26 mai 2021

Black Bay Ceramic METAS

Intro

Tudor a fait des choses surprenantes ces derniers temps, notamment (selon vos attentes) une version en or 18k de la Black Bay 58, et une version en argent sterling de la même montre. Maintenant, Tudor a annoncé une autre surprise : La Black Bay Ceramic. Il s’agit d’une Black Bay dotée d’un boîtier entièrement en céramique et d’un insert de lunette en céramique. La montre est également équipée d’un nouveau mouvement, le calibre MT5602-1U.

La caractéristique la plus remarquable de la montre, cependant, est celle que vous ne pouvez pas voir. Il s’agit de la première montre de Tudor à être certifiée par l’Institut fédéral suisse de métrologie de Berne (METAS) qui, en 2015, en partenariat avec Omega, a développé une nouvelle norme de certification pour les montres-bracelets. La certification METAS exige que la montre en question soit fabriquée en Suisse et certifiée par le COSC, et qu’elle passe également une batterie de tests supplémentaires. Il s’agit notamment de tester la précision de la montre sur 6 positions et à deux niveaux de réserve de marche (100 % et 33 %) ainsi que l’étanchéité, la durée de la réserve de marche et, surtout, la résistance aux champs magnétiques. La nouvelle Black Bay Ceramic est résistante aux champs magnétiques jusqu’à au moins 15 000 gauss, ce qui la rend, à toutes fins utiles, totalement résistante au magnétisme de la vie quotidienne.

Le nouveau mouvement a également une finition entièrement noire, y compris la masse oscillante en tungstène pour le rotor de remontage.

Tous les tests pour la certification METAS sont effectués au siège de Tudor à Genève. Une autre première pour la montre se trouve sur le cadran – c’est la première Black Bay à réellement dire « Black Bay » sur le cadran. Danny Milton, de HODINKEE, déclare :  » Habituellement, le cadran comporte l’indice de profondeur (disparu) et la mention  » Chronomètre officiellement certifié  » (disparue). On est passé de trois lignes à deux lignes de texte, ce qui, je pense, plaira aux gens. »

Premières réflexions

Ce n’est en fait pas la première Black Bay en céramique – vous vous souvenez peut-être que cet honneur revient à une montre que Tudor a créée pour la vente aux enchères de bienfaisance Only Watch en 2019 (la vente aux enchères a lieu tous les deux ans, et les recettes sont destinées à la recherche de thérapies et d’un remède pour la dystrophie musculaire). Cette montre était la Black Bay Ceramic One, qui a été vendue au marteau pour 350 000 francs suisses. La nouvelle Black Bay Ceramic est toutefois la première Tudor Black Bay de série en céramique.
C’est également la première fois qu’une montre certifiée METAS est produite par une marque autre qu’Omega, qui a jusqu’à présent monopolisé la certification.

La production d’une montre certifiée METAS par Tudor est une démarche logique. D’une part, cela signifie que la société est désormais à l’avant-garde de l’horlogerie mécanique technique, et cela lui donne une proposition de valeur concurrentielle très forte par rapport aux autres marques, en particulier celles qui produisent des montres de sport et des montres de plongée dans la gamme des moins de 5 000 dollars. Elle permet également de distinguer davantage Tudor de Rolex, ce qui est de plus en plus important à l’avenir. La capacité de Tudor à présenter des designs qui la distinguent de la Couronne s’est de plus en plus affirmée ces dernières années, et si sa propre famille de calibres était un élément distinctif, les mouvements Tudor (qui proviennent de Kenissi) ont désormais, avec la certification METAS, un avantage majeur pour le consommateur.

Le mouvement

Calibre: MT5602-1U, Manufacturé, avec spiral en silicium.
Fonctions: Heures, minutes, secondes
Diamètre: 31,8mm
Epaisseur: 6.5mm
Réserve de marche: 70 heures
Montage : automatique
Fréquence: 28’800 vph
Rubis : 25
Chronomètre certifié:
Détails supplémentaires : Balancier à inertie variable ; ajusté à une variation maximale de la cadence de 0/+5 secondes par jour.


Prix et disponibilité

Prix: CHF 4500
Disponibilité: Disponible dès maintenant
Édition limitée : Non, production régulière.

Source : https://www.hodinkee.com/articles/the-tudor-black-bay-ceramic-the-first-metas-certified-tudor

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter

Soyez les premiers à être informés des nouveaux arrivages, des offres exclusives et des conseils de Watchour.